Orientation 2016

 

This page is to help to guide mentors in preparing their teams, including teachers, for the masterclass.

Navigation

Go to full Project Map.

 

New Institutes: Masterclass Orientation

A masterclass orienation can be done online via Vidyo or in person with a visit from a QuarkNet staff member or fellow. It is intended for teachers and mentors. Here is what is covered:

  • Classroom prep for the masterclass
  • Try out an ATLAS or CMS masterclass measurement
  • Walk-through of masterclass logistics
  • Masterclass Library
  • Vidyo test
  • Q&A

This generally takes 4-6 hours, though it can be trimmed or extended depending on needed. If you are doing a CMS or ATLAS Data Workshop in the masterclass orientation period, it counts as an orientation. If you had one previous to this, you only need an orientation update (below).

Register for Masterclass Orientation on the Google form at least one week prior to your earliest preferred date!

 

Experienced Institutes: Orientation Updates

An orientation update is to bring teachers and mentors up to speed on the latest in masterclass measurements and procedures. As orientation updates are done online, they also serve as Vidyo tests. Orientation updates take 1-2 hours.

Register for Masterclass Orientation on the Google form at least one week prior to your earliest preferred date!

 

Orientation Schedule 2016

Orientation Indico pages:

Start time in CT and facilitator in parentheses. New registrants: we can accommodate days and times not yet shown on this schedule.

Date 2016 ATLAS Orientation CMS Orientation ATLAS Update CMS Update
Wed 20 Jan       Quincy ND, Colorado St (15:30 MT, 16:30 CT, Trapp)
Thu 21 Jan       Fukuoka, Nagoya, Shanghai (16:00 JST, 15:00 CST, 01:00 CT; Cecire)
Sat 23 Jan        
Tue 26 Jan       Auckland (11:00 NZDT, 16:00 CT Mon 25 Jan; Glover)
Wed 27 Jan       Boston (17:00 ET, 16:00 CT; on site; Wadness and Dower)
Sat 30 Jan       Purdue (10:00 ET, 09:00 CT; Cecire)
Mon 01 Feb     Stillwater (15:00 CT, Dower) Palaiseau (18:00 CET, 11 CT; Cecire)
Thu 04 Feb     McGill (14:30 ET, 13:30 CT, Cecire) UWash (13:00 PT, 15:00 CT; Trapp)
Mon 08 Feb       Buffalo, Honolulu (15:30 ET, 14:30 CT, 10:30 am HAST)
Wed 10 Feb       Cincinnati (14:30 ET, 13:30 CT; Cecire)
Fri 12 Feb     St. Louis (08:00 CT; Cecire)  
Sat 13 Feb   Mayagüez (videocon 16:00 AST, 14:00 CT; Cecire)   Calumet (08:30 CT, 09:30 ET; Glover), Minneapolis (10:00 CT; Wood)
Sat 20 Feb       Kansas St (13:00 CT, videocon 15:00 CT), Fairfax/Williamsburg (time TBD, Fetsko)
Wed 24 Feb     Santa Cruz (13:00 PT, 15:00 CT; Dower)  
Mon 29 Feb Latin American Institutes (13:00 CT; Cecire)      

* Site visit.

 

Go to Project Map

Groups audience: